Shire President to Chair Pilbara Development Commission

3 August 2011 FDI Team


Roebourne Shire President, Councillor Nicole Lockwood, has been appointed chair of the Pilbara Development Commission (PDC) board.


In an announcement made in late July, Regional Development Minister Brendon Grylls appointed Councillor Lockwood to lead the PDC board. Councillor Lockwood will replace Andre Bush, who has been acting chair for the last six months; Mr Bush, who has relocated to Perth, will take the deputy’s role within the board.

Cr Lockwood, a member of the commission from 2009 and a trained lawyer, will be responsible for the commission’s participation in the delivery of projects related to the ‘Pilbara Cities’ vision and other Royalties for Regions programs. According to Mr Grylls, Cr Lockwood’s “extensive experience, networks and knowledge would enable her to provide valuable corporate and strategic direction to the board”.

In addition to her roles with the Shire of Roebourne and the PDC, Cr Lockwood is a member of the Federal Government’s Infrastructure Australia Council and the WA Planning Commission.

Cr Kelly Howlett, mayor of the Town of Port Hedland and Cr Lynne Craigie, president of the Shire of East Pilbara, were also announced by Mr Grylls as appointments to the board. 

Liam McHugh

Strategic Analyst

Northern Australia/ Energy Security

[email protected]

Any opinions or views expressed in this paper are those of the individual author, unless stated to be those of Future Directions International.

Published by Future Directions International Pty Ltd.
Suite 5, 202 Hampden Road, Nedlands WA 6009, Australia.